Projects: Work in Progress – Sixties Dress

dress1Currently I am sewing a sixties dress, I wanted to do so for a long time, so when I discovered this dress in the autumn 2012 issue of Burda easy fashion, I decided to give it a shot. I really like the pattern, especially the collar, but I don’t like the fabric they chose. I bought two simple cotton fabrics, one in plain blue and the other one with little circles.

DSC00031Although the pattern is from an easy fashion magazine, I have to admit that I found some parts to be rather difficult. But the advantage is, that you don’t have to copy the pattern pieces onto tissue paper and that they provide  step-by-step instructions. Also there’s no zipper, which makes it easier since zippers can be tricky some time. By now I have learned to sew in zippers quite well, so it wouldn’t have been a problem, but I like that it’s a dress you just can slip on.

dress2Today I worked on my least favourite part, inserting the sleeves. Although I have sewn clothes with sleeves quite a few times by now, I always struggle to get it right. So far I have sewn in one sleeve and it turned out surprisingly well, although it was a challenge to include the lining, because I haven’t sewn something with both sleeves and lining before.  All in all I’m quite pleased how the dress turned out so far. I will show you pictures of the finished dress as soon as it’s complete.

Which is the part you struggle most with when sewing clothes? Any tips for inserting sleeves?

4 thoughts on “Projects: Work in Progress – Sixties Dress

    • The sleeves were a little bit difficult, but I finally managed to put them in. If you sew a sixties dress I would love to see it, so I will keep an eye on your blog!

  1. I love the fabrics you chose, and it looks like it’s turning out great!
    Sleeves are always a pain in the ass, and I’m convinced that zippers are the devil… 😉
    Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    xoxo
    Alex

What do you think?

