Art Journaling: Circle Stamps

circle-stamps4Not only do I love letter stamps, I like stamps in general very much. Very often I use every day materials as stamps, especially for stamping simple patterns as backgrounds.

Two things I regularly use for stamping are bubble wrap and mason jars.
Here I used a wrap with bigger bubbles and covered it with coat of acrylics using a roller, before pressing it onto the paper.DSC00176Than I added a second layer with bubbles which were a little smaller. I also went over the page with the roller and the paint which remained on it after covering the bubble wrap.circle-stamps1Then I took the bottom of the maison jar, where you usually can find a “patterned circle” and covered it with paint.circle-stamps2I really like the look of the mason jar stamp with its little pattern and the irregularities. circle-stamps3

To finish the page I filled the maison jar circles with gesso, cut little butterflies and glued them on. For me this is an unusually colorful and bright page, but I like it, because of its springy and happy vibe.

Do you have any tips which everyday objects would make great stamps?

2 thoughts on “Art Journaling: Circle Stamps

  1. I love to use water bottle caps, the underside of the protective wrap that covers a hot Starbucks coffee and the round opening when the top pops off the wood of a cheap paintbrush

What do you think?

